top of page

Friendship

Updated: Jan 24, 2019

Growing up, my mother has always reminded me of the often hard to swallow, but evident fact that as we grow and change, the people and friends we encounter will come and go. I remember as a child thinking how crazy her logic was; unfortunately, just as any other lesson in life my mother made an effort to prepare my naive mind for, she was right. Nevertheless, I have formed a strong faith in the greater plan where I have grown to accept this natural reality.

I began attempting to see all things for the positivity in which they inflicted upon my well-being. Rather than dwelling upon the sadness and hurt of a situation, I strived to see the good in which it may bring. My outlook began to transform from grief to gratitude when I reminded myself that God had his reasons, just as he did for every hardship we find ourselves coming face to face with on a daily basis. My perception of this idea has evolved with age as well as my own personal experiences, each leading me one step closer to discovering this truth.

Every person we encounter throughout our day to day lives are walking down an entirely different path than our own. Often when we come across the divine interaction with another individual, the outcome can be forgotten or in rare circumstance, the complete opposite so to speak. You may find bliss and familiar comfort with a complete stranger, a conversation that gives you a sense of happiness and joy. A complete stranger, yet such a “familiar soul”. These rare encounters are the very thing that lead us to form the so called “friendships” within our life.

Loving another person, the love found within a friendship, is a unique and incredible bond we must always cherish. Every friendship serves a great relevance to our being, and is always intended to hold value. God doesn’t place a single entity into our lives unless it has an adequate purpose in your becoming. Unfortunately, the ones we find ourselves to be fond of aren’t always there to stay. Some souls have the ability to teach us a great deal about ourselves in a short span of time but ultimately prove with time that they are only meant to accompany us for a season. However, some of us are lucky enough to nestle the friends that are intended to remain in our life [close by our side] for the long haul.

When life throws an unexpected hardship into our path and turns our once normality of life into an ugly and dark place, friends are the haven that protect us, inspire us, and give us the loving push to keep going. When my life took an unexpected turn down a dark road I quickly realized just how precious the blessing of a friendship truly was. I consider myself incredibly lucky to say that I have been graciously given valuable and unique relationships with people I value more than they will ever know. Each individual thought to be irreplaceable within my mind. Their genuine traits are the very thing that have guided me to finding the person in which I am meant to be. A friend, whether they be one I have known many years of my life or simply for a short span of time, they have ALL contributed to the path of my change and helped me become a newly inspired being. They have helped me prosper and grow as a person and for that, I will be forever grateful.

Friendships are not always perfect, but this world is an imperfect world. What I have found to value most in a friend is their ability to reveal parts of myself I never knew I was capable of. The friendship you offer might just be the exact thing another person needs & though it may seem so unnoticed and insignificant in our own mind, it may mean the world to another.

My mother and father were my first example of a friend. They were my guardian and protector but they also taught me to always be kind and to love others unconditionally. They taught me to strive towards helping others who need us and being a positive light that another could desperately use the guidance of. I can recall several instances within my young life where I experienced sadness or loss, but they made every effort to fix me. They made the effort to mend my heart and bring my mind back to a happy place---For this I am forever grateful. We all love in different ways. I have learned through many trial and error situations that not everyone will love you in return. Despite others demeanor, I believe the purpose of love and friendship is to offer it wholeheartedly.

Not everyone will be good to you, people can be cruel and at some point very well may hurt you deeper than you ever imagined they could. However, if we accept their downfall of dishonesty, deceit, or whatever we may feel they have hurt us by and forgive, we might just be the blessing god has placed into their existence. I am infinitely grateful for the people God chose to offer me. I have learned a great deal about myself within such a short amount of time and I have changed into someone I can honestly say I am proud to be. We never know where life will bring us, and sometimes the unimaginable becomes our reality---Though it is from struggle that I have learned the most; Open your heart as well as your mind to every soul you meet, and always strive to be kind even when we find it hard to understand someone else’s perspective. Love will bring us together in the end. Just remember, the person who may seem unlovable might just need your kind of love.

 


58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page